Map Of The Month Q2 2014

The Mapping League Forum (former MMC)

Moderator: Dean

User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Map Of The Month Q2 2014

Post by AlumiuN »

EDIT: Extended until the end of September :)

Alright, folks, here's the mapping kit for the next MMC! The changes to last quarter's MMC are as follows:

- Directable pushwalls - use the pushwall direct objects to redirect a pushwall mid flight! An example of this can be seen in the Default Setting map, in the room to the right past the switch.
- Two new teleporters - a south facing one and a north facing one.
- A new wooden fence (thanks to Tricob for the sprites)
- The endgame trigger now has a set of directional ones that will make the animation happen in the given direction. Additionally, it no longer ends the game, just the level. Note that the 'end game north' item is functionally identical to the standard endgame trigger.
- A map setting to allow the mapper to speed up all pushwalls by up to 10x. This is set at [0,9].
- Enemies now light up when shooting if shading is on
- If pushwall distance is set to 255, pushwalls will never stop unless obstructed
- Spear Of Destiny bosses!
- New textures!

Grab the kit here
Source code

Send me your maps when you're done, my email is in my sig :)
Last edited by AlumiuN on Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:13 am, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
MrWolfForever
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 1299
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post by MrWolfForever »

Sticky the thread? We got almost a dozen maps last quarter which was more than I honestly expected, let's hope the good work keeps up. :D
My YouTube channel - Various Wolf3D and Doom videos; comments highly appreciated and welcomed!: [link removed]
User avatar
Tricob
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 9040
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.

Post by Tricob »

The thread will only be valid for three months; the "Sticky" feature is used for threads with more "staying power". :)
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

...we stickied last quarter's thread; maybe it could be stickied for the duration of the quarter and then unstickied? After all, I thought that was what was going to happen with the last one :P
User avatar
Arielus
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 9:43 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA

Post by Arielus »

Thanks a bunch for the new mapping kit, AlumiuN. Those new additions sound really nice indeed.

I have stickied the thread, too... :)

Cheers,

Ariel
Metal lives forever... blazing on and on!!!
User avatar
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 3830
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:04 am

Post by ronwolf1705 »

Great, will test it as soon as I have the time.
User avatar
Tricob
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 9040
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.

Post by Tricob »

For whatever it's worth, I have an idea for a map. I intend to try it out and see if it survives its transition to map form. :)
User avatar
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 3830
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:04 am

Post by ronwolf1705 »

That's great to hear, Tricob! The new features sound awesome to work with :)
User avatar
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 3830
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:04 am

Post by ronwolf1705 »

- A map setting to allow the mapper to speed up all pushwalls by up to 10x. This is set at [0,9].
I can't get this to work yet, what do I have to place in the map in order to get it as fast as possible?
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

The value 10 (I believe that's wood w\ eagle) at 0,9 should tell all the pushwalls to move 10x as fast. Try the example map - I've set it so the pushwalls move at double speed on that map, see if that works.
User avatar
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 3830
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:04 am

Post by ronwolf1705 »

For some reason it still doesn't have any effect unfortunately. I also don't see it working in the test map.
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

Hmm, that's really weird, it definitely had an effect when I tested it to put the package together. Can anyone else confirm if it's working or not?
User avatar
Tricob
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 9040
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.

Post by Tricob »

The sped-up Pushwalls are working on my end, though I didn't try Speed 10. Ron, could you post the "Last modified date" of the EXE you're using, please? Thanks. :)
User avatar
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 3830
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:04 am

Post by ronwolf1705 »

No more need, I have fixed it by not being a dumbass. :lol:
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

OK, so before we get too far into this new MMC, final call - does anyone want me to add anything? I feel like I want to add some stuff, but I can't come up with anything myself :P
User avatar
Tricob
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 9040
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.

Post by Tricob »

AlumiuN wrote:OK, so before we get too far into this new MMC, final call - does anyone want me to add anything? I feel like I want to add some stuff, but I can't come up with anything myself :P
I'd like to throw in that animated candle from the "Base Of Operations" demo. This is an animated sprite I did some months back, possibly even a year ago. It's one of the few things I've done that actually looks good in the original Wolf3D palette. You can find the demo here.
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

Done. Anyone got any wall textures they think would fit? There's about 200 free spots for textures before ChaosEdit can't handle them :P
User avatar
Arielus
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 9:43 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA

Post by Arielus »

As far as wall textures go, there are a few of them in the original Spear of Destiny that I think have not been added to this package. Maybe include those?

Also, this will probably be a lot harder to implement, but maybe also adding all bosses from Spear of Destiny? That would be kind of cool, though maybe too painful to bother with...

Cheers,

Ariel
Metal lives forever... blazing on and on!!!
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

Hmm, that's a good thought. I'll look into it tomorrow. Getting all the sprites out of the Spear VSWAP and into the MMC one will probably be the worst part of that :P
User avatar
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 3830
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:04 am

Post by ronwolf1705 »

That's a great idea, Ariel! Will that also include the Ghosts from SoD?
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

I'm pretty sure I can include them too :)
User avatar
Tricob
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 9040
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.

Post by Tricob »

There's a minor "graphical mistake" in the main menu, where the pointer has a different background than the text of the menu. I'll see about fixing this, since it can be done without any coding changes. :)

AlumiuN, regarding the source code, is there something I'm doing wrong? I'm getting this message:
||=== Build: Release in NewMMC (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
C:\Documents and Settings\Tricob\Desktop\Base files\- source code -\NewMMC\wl_act1.cpp|132|warning: anonymous type with no linkage used to declare variable '<anonymous struct> statinfo []' with linkage [enabled by default]|
C:\Documents and Settings\Tricob\Desktop\Base files\- source code -\NewMMC\wl_debug.cpp|55|warning: anonymous type with no linkage used to declare variable '<anonymous enum> viewtype' with linkage [enabled by default]|
ld.exe||cannot find -lSDL|
||=== Build failed: 1 error(s), 2 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 7 second(s)) ===|
Any suggestions?
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

That was the way it was in the original MMC, actually, I've been meaning to fix it but I keep forgetting.

Also, that error means you haven't set up the linker's search directories, so it can't find SDL to link to the program. That's in Project > Build Options > Search directories > Linker.
User avatar
Tricob
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 9040
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.

Post by Tricob »

AlumiuN wrote:That was the way it was in the original MMC, actually, I've been meaning to fix it but I keep forgetting.
I actually have this problem fixed now. There's also a similar problem with the Sign-On screen, but it's code-related. I believe I have the problem fixed here too, but I need to test the code to be sure.
Also, that error means you haven't set up the linker's search directories, so it can't find SDL to link to the program. That's in Project > Build Options > Search directories > Linker.
What directory should I add to the Linker? I've added two directories so far, and I'm still getting the same errors.
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

Tricob wrote:
Also, that error means you haven't set up the linker's search directories, so it can't find SDL to link to the program. That's in Project > Build Options > Search directories > Linker.
What directory should I add to the Linker? I've added two directories so far, and I'm still getting the same errors.
It's the \lib directory of wherever you have SDL, otherwise it's whatever folder contains all the .lib and .dll files. Also, make sure you add the directories to whatever version you're building, or preferably just add them to the Wolf4SDL entry. For some reason I added my search directories to both the Release and default builds.

EDIT: Also, what do people think I should do about determining what the SoD bosses drop and if they're blocked by blocking codes, as there's no room next to the current set of values. I can add them down the side, or I can make them correspond to a normal Wolf boss.

EDIT AGAIN: OK, it's going to take me a while to get the SoD bosses in anyway, I forgot I'd need to add in sounds for them. I'm not looking forward to working with WDC to do it. :P

EDIT FOR THE THIRD TIME: Well, it's done. BTW does anyone actually use WDC for map editing? Because if not I can stop updating the WDC definitions because I hate opening it :P

EDIT ONCE MORE FOR LUCK: Not sure if anyone noticed, but the variables for figuring out which enemies could open doors was messed up. I think I've fixed it now, but I have a feeling my fix might cause weird things to happen. Keep your eye out when using the next version.
User avatar
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 3830
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:04 am

Post by ronwolf1705 »

I think it's mostly Chaosedit and some Mapedit. But someone could use WDC.
User avatar
Arielus
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 9:43 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA

Post by Arielus »

Thanks a lot for adding the SoD bosses, AlumiuN. Imagine a level with all SoD and Wolf3D bosses gathered to give BJ a warm welcome... Madness!
AlumiuN wrote:BTW does anyone actually use WDC for map editing? Because if not I can stop updating the WDC definitions because I hate opening it :P
I know of some who do use WDC.

Cheers,

Ariel
Metal lives forever... blazing on and on!!!
User avatar
Tricob
Moderator
<b>Moderator</b>
Posts: 9040
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.

Post by Tricob »

AlumiuN wrote:
Tricob wrote:
Also, that error means you haven't set up the linker's search directories, so it can't find SDL to link to the program. That's in Project > Build Options > Search directories > Linker.
What directory should I add to the Linker? I've added two directories so far, and I'm still getting the same errors.
It's the \lib directory of wherever you have SDL, otherwise it's whatever folder contains all the .lib and .dll files. Also, make sure you add the directories to whatever version you're building, or preferably just add them to the Wolf4SDL entry. For some reason I added my search directories to both the Release and default builds.
Thanks for all your help so far. The "anonymous" error messages remain, although the "lsdl" error doesn't. :-|
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

Tricob wrote:
AlumiuN wrote:
Tricob wrote:What directory should I add to the Linker? I've added two directories so far, and I'm still getting the same errors.
It's the \lib directory of wherever you have SDL, otherwise it's whatever folder contains all the .lib and .dll files. Also, make sure you add the directories to whatever version you're building, or preferably just add them to the Wolf4SDL entry. For some reason I added my search directories to both the Release and default builds.
Thanks for all your help so far. The "anonymous" error messages remain, although the "lsdl" error doesn't. :-|
Luckily those aren't error messages; just warnings. It's because of the way a couple of data tables are done (namely the sprites and a thing in WL_DEBUG) isn't strictly the best programming practice. :P
User avatar
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer
Posts: 2744
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:34 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post by AlumiuN »

OK, shit like this is why I don't like using WDC - it decided to hack one of the music files off the end of AUDIOT so I had to go find an older one, rip out the song I wanted and throw it back in. And all of this made worse by the unnecessary project system. </rant>

Anyway, I should have a version with all the SoD textures (plus a couple of extras) and bosses tonight. Just need to do a little testing to make sure WDC didn't kill anything else when I put the music file in. >:(